Kingdom of Sweden

Capital city of Sweden, Stockholm

Sweden is the third largest country in Western Europe with a total area of 450 295 km² and is located on the Scandinavian peninsula bordering Norway and Finland, Sweden has a population of about 10.5 million people. Scandinavian has many and large rivers and lakes, and hydropower is the largest source of energy. The countries consists of several islands and 55% of Sweden is covered by forest. Sweden has land borders to Finland and Norway and is connected to Denmark by a bridge. Many scandinavian people are is related and has close ties, due to Swedes has inhabited what is now Norway and Denmark, as well as parts of Finland.

The largest ethnic group in Sweden are ethnic Swedes with a population of 9.5 million. The majority of the population in Sweden are people who can trace their ethnicity back to their Swedish origin, which goes back at least 12 generations. Sweden’s Finns are the largest ethnic minority, comprising about 2.5 million people, or about 1.2% of Sweden.

The main official language in Sweden is Swedish (svenska), but a number of other languages is common, such as Danish, Finnish, English, Sámi, Romani, Yiddish and Norwegian. Today, the Sami language has the status of an official minority language in four municipalities of the Norrbotten district and in all but one municipality in the rest of the country.

The capital and largest city of Sweden is Stockholm, and other major cities are Gothenburg, Malmö and Uppsala.

The primary Swedish religion is Christianity (Protestantism), other religions such as Judaism, Islam and Catholicism is also common. A non-common religion, but still present in Swedes traditions, is the Nordic Asa faith. It is worth noting, however, that Sweden is not a predominantly religious country. In fact, some research suggests that less than one in five Swedes is religious at all.